National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)

The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) was created by Congress in 1968 to protect lives and property and to reduce the financial burden of providing disaster assistance. The NFIP offers flood insurance to homeowners, renters, and business owners if their community participates in the NFIP. Participating communities agree to adopt and enforce ordinances that meet or exceed FEMA requirements to reduce the risk of flooding. In Kansas, the NFIP is administered by the Division of Water Resources (DWR).

DWR reviews and approves floodplain zoning ordinances before their adoption by local governing bodies. It also provides technical assistance to communities to help them develop proper floodplain-related ordinances. The DWR chief engineer uses data from NFIP studies and mapping for permit and approval decisions.

For floodplain management, incorporated cities and unincorporated areas of counties are separate entities that must separately enact and enforce floodplain management regulations. For additional general information, view Floodsmart for information on risk, flood insurance, and finding an agent in your area.

Follow the links below for additional information on:

Flood Insurance

Newly Mapped Procedures

Community Rating System

Letters of Map Change