Specialty Crop Block Grant

Specialty Crop Block Grant Application Packet and Information

The Kansas Department of Agriculture is no longer accepting applications for the 2018 Specialty Crop Block Grant program. We anticipate accepting applications for the FY2019 program in early spring 2019. Application materials from the FY2018 program are provided for informational purposes only.

2018 Request for Application

2018 Application Cover Sheet

2018 Application Template

Specialty Crop Block Grant Performance Measures

Background on Specialty Crop Block Grant Program

Since 2006, the U.S. Department of Agriculture has made available grants to state departments of agriculture solely to enhance the competitiveness of specialty crops. The current funding for the program was established in the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 (Farm Bill,) which authorized the USDA to provide grants to states for each of the fiscal years 2008 through 2012 to enhance the competitiveness of specialty crops. This program was renewed in the 2014 Farm Bill.

Each state that submits an application that is reviewed and approved by the Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) is to receive an estimated base amount of $201,973.63 plus an amount based on the average of the most recent available value of specialty crop cash receipt and the acreage of specialty crop production in the state.

Kansas will receive approximately $348,848.12 for federal fiscal year 2018, an increase from the $283,597.28 received in 2016 and $296,405.62 received in 2017.  

Applications for grant funds should show how the project potentially impacts and produces measurable outcomes for the specialty crop industry and/or the public rather than a single organization, institution, or individual.  Grant funds will not be awarded for projects that solely benefit a particular commercial product or provide a profit to a single organization, institution, or individual.  Single organizations, institutions, and individuals are encouraged to participate as project partners.

Applicants must be a legal entity and have the legal capacity to contract.

Specialty crops are defined by the USDA as fruits and vegetables, tree nuts, dried fruits and nursery crops, including floriculture.  Projects are required to “enhance the competitiveness of specialty crops,” per the USDA’s guidelines. Projects of particular interest to the Kansas Department of Agriculture are those that explore economic development and education, as related to the Kansas specialty crop industry.  For more information about the specialty crop block grant program, including a current list of eligible crops, visit USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service.  

For additional information on this program, contact Peter Oppelt.

Specialty Crop Block Grant Recipients

  • 2018 Recipients

  • 2017 Recipients

  • 2016 Recipients

  • 2015 Recipients

  • 2014 Recipients

  • 2013 Recipients

  • 2012 Recipients

  • 2010 Recipients

  • 2009 Recipients

  • 2008 Recipients

  • 2007 Recipients