Division of Conservation

(This website was updated 4/24/2024)


Welcome to the Division of Conservation (DOC)

Conservation of natural resources is an important concern for all Kansans. The Division of Conservation (DOC), working with 105 local Conservation Districts, 75 organized Watershed Districts, other special-purpose districts, as well as state and federal entities administer programs to improve water quality, reduce soil erosion, conserve water, reduce flood potential and provide local water supply. The DOC has the responsibility to administer the Conservation Districts Law, the Watershed District Act and other statutes authorizing various programs. The agency budget is financed from the dedicated funding of the Kansas State Water Plan Special Revenue Fund, State General Fund, and fee funds.

Conservation District AreasThese five conservation regions are each represented by a commissioner who serves on the State Conservation Commission.

Who We Partner With

Kansas Association of Conservation Districts (KACD)
Kansas Association of Conservation District Employees Organization (KACD-EO)
National Association of Conservation Districts (NACD)
National Association of State Conservation Agencies (NASCA)
State Conservation Commission (SCC)
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
Kansas Water Office (KWO)
Kansas Forest Service (KFS)
Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE)
Watershed Restoration & Protection Strategy (WRAPS)
Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks (KDWP)
State Association of Kansas Watersheds (SAKW)
Kansas State University (KSU)
USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA)
Watershed Districts

Division of Conservation News

State Conservation Commission Meeting November 22

The State Conservation Commission will hold a meeting on Sunday, November 22, 2020, at 2:00 p.m. at the Webster Conference Center in Salina.

The State Conservation Commission will hold a meeting on Sunday, November 22, 2020, at 2:00 p.m. at the Webster Conference Center in Salina. To meet social distancing requirements, the in-person meeting at the conference center is limited to the SCC commissioners, Kansas Department of Agriculture executive staff, and KDA Division of Conservation staff. An online meeting option is available for conservation partners and is open to the public.

The SCC consists of five elected commissioners; two ex officio members representing the Kansas State University Agriculture Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service; and two appointed members representing KDA and the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service.

The KDA Division of Conservation consults with the SCC to protect and enhance Kansas' natural resources through the development, implementation and maintenance of policies, guidelines and programs designed to assist local governments and individuals in conserving the state's renewable resources.

To request a copy of the agenda or directions on how to participate in the online meeting, please contact the KDA–DOC at 785-564-6620 or kda.doc@ks.gov.


WHO:            State Conservation Commission

WHAT:          State Conservation Commission Meeting

WHEN:          2:00 p.m. on Sunday, November 22, 2020