Division of Water Resources

David W. Barfield, P.E. - Chief Engineer

The Division of Water Resources administers 30 laws and responsibilities including the Kansas Water Appropriation Act which governs how water is allocated and used; statutes regulating the construction of dams, levees and other changes to streams; the state's four interstate river compacts; as well as coordinating the national flood insurance program in Kansas. 

Minimum Desirable Streamflow is being administered on the Little Arkansas River above Alta Mills, Medicine Lodge River above Kiowa and the Saline River above Russell.

DWR Approved Meter List: Current list of approved water flowmeters, forms and instructions

House Bill 2363 includes several amendments to water structures permit requirements.  Dams, stream obstructions, channel changes and floodplain fill projects are all affected by these changes. A guidance document implements those changes and resolves conflicts within current adopted regulations.

Additional information regarding the Sheridan-Thomas County Local Enhanced Management Area (Sheridan 6 LEMA).