Organic Cost Share Program

To receive cost share funds:

Farms and businesses that produce, process or package certified organic agricultural products are eligible to be reimbursed for 75 percent of certification-related costs – up to $750 per category of certification – for expenses paid from Oct. 1, 2016 through Sept. 30, 2017.

Upon receipt of your documents, the Kansas Department of Agriculture will confirm certification and then provide reimbursement to the mailing address listed on this form. Please note that incomplete forms may delay your reimbursement. Based on the receipt of the completed application packet by the Kansas Department of Agriculture, reimbursements will be on a first-come, first-served basis until the limited program funds are exhausted. Print clearly or type the Kansas Organic Certification Cost Share Program Application.

Supporting Documents:

More questions about reimbursement details?

Q: What is the reimbursement amount available to a certified operation?
A: A Certified operation may be reimbursed for up to 75 percent of their allowable certification costs, not to exceed $750 per certification.

Q: What is the maximum reimbursement amount available to a certified operation?
A: The maximum reimbursement is $750 per certification scope. An operation may be certified under more than one certification scope. Since there are 4 possible certification scopes in Kansas, the maximum reimbursement amount is $3,000. This would occur if the operator is certified for all 4 scopes (crops, livestock, wild crops, and handling) and the overall allowable certification costs are equal to or greater than $4000 (the 75% rule).

NOTE TO PRODUCERS: This program is funded by the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2014, the farm bill. The Kansas Department of Agriculture receives funds from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA) to help Kansas producers and handlers pay for organic certification or re certification. Under the state’s agreement with USDA, farmers and handlers are eligible for up to 75 percent of the cost to their organic certification up to $750, for certification occurring between October 1, 2016 to September 30, 2017, as long as funds remain.

The Kansas Department of Agriculture has been allocated almost $67,00 in funds to reimburse eligible producers and handlers.

For additional information contact:

Kellen L. Liebsch, Kansas Department of Agriculture, 785-564-6726

Lexi Wright, Kansas Department of Agriculture, 785-564-6755

Jackie Keller, Organic Crop Improvement Association, 785-633-4621

Certified Organic Foods in Kansas