Marketing Advisory Board

The Kansas Department of Agriculture’s Marketing Advisory Board advises KDA's Advocacy, Marketing and Outreach team on a variety of topics through the following sub-committees: From the Land of Kansas, international agricultural development, agricultural business development, agricultural workforce development and agricultural education. Coordinated by the marketing team program manager, the advisory board will meet on a biannual basis at minimum.

The marketing advisory board is composed of no fewer than nine and no more than 12 members. Each member appointed to the board shall be recognized for knowledge and leadership in a least one of the following growth strategy sectors:

  • Agricultural Technology and Entrepreneurship
  • Animal Health
  • Beef
  • Corn
  • Cotton
  • Dairy
  • Equine
  • Feed and Forage
  • Food Processing
  • Pet Food
  • Pork
  • Poultry
  • Sorghum
  • Soybean and Oilseed
  • Specialty Crop
  • Specialty Livestock
  • Unmanned Aerial Systems
  • Wheat

In order to be eligible, board members must currently reside in the state of Kansas. Board members will be appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture to either a staggered two-year or four-year term.

Each board member will be asked to serve on a minimum of one sub-committee. Sub-committees will meet, at minimum, on a quarterly basis. The Secretary of Agriculture reserves the right to ask a member to resign due to non-activity.

Application Process

If you are interested in applying to serve as a Marketing Advisory Board member, please submit a resume, statement of interest/cover letter and tax clearance confirmation PDF.  The online tax clearance form is submitted electronically through the Kansas Department of Revenue. Individuals who submit the form will receive email notification with a link to a downloadable PDF, certifying good standing. Please download and email the PDF, in addition to the resume and cover letter, to

All questions can be directed to Kerry Wefald via email or phone at 785-564-6758.

Applications are due by Aug. 4, 2017.

Current Board Members

Lindsey Huseman
313 21st Road
Ellsworth, KS 67439
Occupation: Agriculture Educator and Rancher
Brian Linin
912 E 4th Street
Goodland, KS 67735
Occupation: CFO
Frontier Ag Inc.
Jennifer Ryan
705 Meadowlark Lane
Pratt, KS 67124
Occupation: Farmer and Rancher
David Foster
385 100th Street
Fort Scott, KS 66701
Occupation: Dairyman
Derek Sawyer
929 11th Avenue
McPherson, KS 67460
Occupation: Farmer and Rancher
Mike Bergmeier
950 Scott Boulevard
South Hutchinson, KS 67505
Occupation: Agriculture Equipment and Manufacturing Expert
Donna Cook
903 N Broadway
Louisburg, KS 66053
Occupation: Food Product Expert
Ron Hirst
1508 W Blanchard
South Hutchinson, KS 67505
Economic Development Professional
Greg Peterson
1339 E Rose Hill Road
Assaria, KS 67416
Occupation: Agriculture Advocate
and Agriculture Student
Ron Suppes
17 E Highway 96
Dighton, KS 67839
Occupation: Farmer
Becky Nickel
1668 E 40th
Peabody, KS 66866
Occupation: Agriculture Business
Twilya L'Ecuyer
1020 22nd Road
Morrowville, KS 66598
Occupation: Specialty Crop Producer