Animal Facilities Inspection

The Animal Facilities Inspection Program regulates companion animal facilities required to be licensed under the provisions of the Kansas Pet Animal Act. The Act requires licensing and inspection of all dog and cat breeders who produce, offer or sell three or more litters during the state fiscal year, pounds and shelters, pet shops, research facilities, distributors, out-of-state distributors, boarding facilities, animal rescues and foster homes. Office staff maintains licenses, health papers and correspondence pertaining to the program. Field inspectors inspect licensed facilities and investigate complaints.

Pet Animal Act
Statutes and regulations for small animals can be found under Article 17 of the Kansas Department of Agriculture Statutes. For a detailed look at these statutes, click here.

Also be sure to see the USDA Regulations - Animal Care Blue Book.

Note: The license year for all licenses under the Pet Animal Act has changed to October 1 - September 30. Current licenses expiring June 30, 2015 will be valid through September 30, 2015 with no additional fee. Renewal packets will be sent to licensees in early July for licensing year 2016.

Canine Influenza

A new strain of Canine Influenza has recently emerged in the United States. The virus was responsible for more than 1,000 dogs in the Chicago area becoming sick with flu-like symptoms. There has been no evidence that this virus will infect humans.

Like other Influenza A viruses, this virus infects nearly all dogs that are exposed to it and about 75-80 percent of infected dogs will show symptoms of illness. Signs of illness can range from mild discharge from the eyes and nose with a low fever (102 – 103 degrees Fahrenheit), to a more severe illness involving a high fever (104 -106 degrees Fahrenheit), thick white discharge from the eyes and nostrils, and severe congestion in the lungs. Some severe cases may result in death.

Healthy dogs become infected by exposure to fluids excreted by infected dogs during the process of exhaling, sneezing or coughing. Dogs usually start showing signs of illness 2-4 days after exposure, but may be shedding virus and are the most infective to other dogs prior to showing any signs of illness.  Infected dogs may be contagious to other healthy dogs for at least 10 days after onset of illness. They may show signs of illness, such as coughing and nasal discharge, for up to 21 days.

Diagnosis is difficult to make by visual signs alone because the signs of the disease are similar to other canine respiratory diseases, such as kennel cough. Definitive diagnosis will need to be made with the assistance of your veterinarian and a diagnostic facility.

Treatment is available. Normally good husbandry including good climate control, good sanitation and nutritious food will be enough for recovery. In some cases, antibiotics, intravenous or subcutaneous fluids, or other treatments may need to be given or prescribed by your veterinarian.

Stopping introduction into your facility or home is the key to preventing this virus. Whenever, possible, prevent your dogs from having direct contact with other dogs. If new dogs are brought into your facility, be sure to isolate them from your dogs for at least 21 days before introducing them to the general population. Always practice good sanitation, including:  sanitizing surfaces and bowls with disinfectant after cleaning and, making certain employees and visitors wash their hands before handling dogs, after coming into contact with a dog’s body fluids (including saliva), after cleaning cages, and upon arrival at and before leaving the facility.

Should your facility become infected with the Canine Influenza virus, it is important that you self-quarantine, preventing the movement of any dogs into or out of the facility for at least 21 days after the onset of visible signs of illness in the facility. This does not apply to animals that are moving on and off the premises for veterinary treatment.

For more information on Canine Influenza virus, please visit the following links:

Tips and Tricks for a Healthy Pet

Protect your pets this Summer!

As the temperatures heat up, so can your pets. Protect them from the extreme heat of summer by allowing them plenty of access to shade and water, and never leave them in a vehicle unless the air conditioner is running.

For more information on pets and poisons, visit the Pet Poison Help Line.

Protect your pet from these common Summer poisons:

  • Blue-green algae
  • Organophosphates and carbamates
  • Certain mulches and grass seed
  • Herbicides/Pesticides
  • Fertilizers
  • Rodenticides
  • Improperly used flea and tick medications
  • Onions
  • Mushrooms
  • Slug and snail baits
  • Plants such as rhubarb, oleander, and kalanchoe, among others
Protect your pet from these common household poisons:
  • Chocolate
  • Mouse and rat poisons (rodenticides)
  • Vitamins and minerals (e.g., Vitamin D3, iron, etc.)
  • NSAIDs (e.g., ibuprofen, naproxen, etc.)
  • Cardiac medications (e.g., calcium channel blockers, beta-blockers, etc.)
  • Cold and allergy medications (e.g., pseudoephedrine, phenylephrine, etc.)
  • Antidepressants (e.g., selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors)
  • Xylitol
  • Acetaminophen (e.g., Tylenol)
  • Caffeine pills
  • Topical spot-on insecticides
  • Household cleaners
  • Antidepressants
  • Lilies
  • Insoluble oxalate plants (e.g., Dieffenbachia, Philodendron, etc.)
  • Human and veterinary NSAIDs
  • Cold and flu medication (e.g., Tylenol)
  • Glow sticks
  • ADD/ADHD medications/amphetamines
  •  Mouse and rat poisons (rodenticides)

Considering a new pet for your home?

Here are some tips to assist with you with your decision:

Can you afford a pet?
        Pets require regular care to ensure the health and well-being of both your
        family and your new forever friend.
Do you have the time for a pet?
        Pets require more than just the basic requirements of food and water.
Can you own a pet where you currently live?
Who will care for your pet when you are away?
Is this the right pet for you?
Size, grooming requirements and physical needs
What kind of care will my new pet require?
  • A thorough veterinary examination
  • Spay/Neuter
  • Vaccinations
  • Heartworm preventative
  • Flea and tick preventative
  • Proper diet
  • Exercise
  • Training (potty and manners)
  • Grooming
Your new pet’s needs may vary depending on breed, health status and life stage, so always check with your veterinarian for more information.