Every pesticide business that applies pesticides for the control of wood-destroying (7A), structural (7E), ornamental (3A), turf (3B), or interior landscape (3C) pests and also employs uncertified applicators is required by the Kansas Pesticide Law to have a registered technician training program.
NOTE: Businesses in the above categories who hire only certified applicators and do not plan to hire uncertified applicators must state this on the Training Program Checklist or in a letter to KDA.
All uncertified applicators must be trained within 90 days after they are employed. All training programs must consist of a minimum of 10 hours of classroom training and 30 hours of on-the-job training. If you hire someone to be trained as a registered technician, you must notify the Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA) within 30 days of their employment using the Pesticide Report of Change Form. Uncertified applicators may only apply pesticides when a certified applicator or registered technician is physically present.
New Businesses must submit a training program with their Kansas pesticide business license application. Businesses will have 90 days to ensure that their uncertified applicators become certified or are trained as registered technicians.
Renewing businesses must indicate any changes in their training programs for uncertified applicators on their business license renewal form.
REGISTERED TECHNICIAN PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS
STEP 1: Select one of the three options listed below for classroom training of your uncertified applicators:
Option 1: Purchase a program from the following sources:
Categories 3a & 3b (For Sale)
Mid-America Green Industry Council
P.O. Box 419264 (formerly PLCAMA)
Kansas City, MO 64141-6264
Categories 3a, 3b & 7a, 7e
CTN Educational Services
P.O. Box 90233
Austin, TX 78709
Video training program for sale
Categories 7a & 7e (Member benefit)
Kansas Pest Control Association
3601 SW 29th, #107
Topeka, KS 66614-2015
Option 2: Send employees to an approved training session
Only for 3A & 3B- contact Mid-America Green Industry Council (816 561-5323)
Option 2: Develop your own training program
Devleop a detailed outline of your training program, indicating the time spent on each topic and the references you will be using for each topic. The references may be books, publications, slides, videos or compurter based porgams that you wish to use in training. The required topics are listed on the next pages and an outline format is available from KDA.
KSU Certification Manuals (Complete the Initial Program Checlist)
You may develop a program based on the certification manuals if you completely cover the appropriate manuals (General and Category) and review labels & equipment that you will be using for a minimum total of 10 hours of classroom training and 30 hours of on-the-job training. All programs must include the current KDA State Of Service handout.
Registered Technician Category 3 Law Requirements
Registered Technician Category 7 Law Requirements
Programs in 7A must also state that they will include termite definitions in K.A.R. 4-13-1 and termite control applications procedures in K.A.R. 4-13-7 & 4-13-26.
STEP 2: Complete the Training Program Checklist or send a letter to KDA stating which program you will be using or include your training outline. KDA will review your program and inform you if any changes are needed in your program.
STEP 3: Train your uncertified applicators and keep detailed records of all their training using the Registered Technician Training Record as a guide. Records must be kept for three years and contain thefollowing:
- Typed or printed name of trainee
- Subject matter covered and type of training, classroom or on-the-job
- Date and duration of each training session in hours
- Signature of the trainee and signature of authorized officer or representative of the pesticide business licensee who administered the training.
STEP 4: Send a completed Pesticide Registered Technician Application (KPL-700) and fees to KDA. Fees are $25 per technician if you have paid the $15 uncertified applicator fee. Otherwise the fee is $40.
STEP 5: KDA will send you identification cards which must be in the possession of the registered technician during all applications. All pesticides, both general use and restricted use, may only be applied under the supervision of a certified applicator. The certified applicator must provide instructions on the handling and application of pesticide being used and be available by telephone, radio or comparable means when the pesticide is being applied. The registered technician must work from the same business address as the supervising certified applicator.
STEP 6: Renew your technician registrations every year as they expire December 31st of each calendar year. KDA will send you renewal forms each year but the business is responsible for ensuring that each technician receives 6 hours of training every year before renewal.
Every uncertified applicator you hire must go through your initial training program even if they have been previously trained as a registered technician at another pesticide business. When a registered technician leaves your employ, their registration becomes void and they are considered an uncertified applicator.