Specialty Crop Block Grant

Specialty Crop Block Grant Application Packet and Information

The Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA) is currently accepting applications for the 2021 Specialty Crop Block Grant HR 133 Stimulus Program.

Due to COVID-19 impacts on the food system, Congress authorized one-time additional funding for the Specialty Crop Block Grant Program outside of the traditional Farm Bill funding under the 2021 Consolidated Appropriations Act, Public Law 116-260 (H.R. 133 Stimulus). Kansas is expected to receive approximately $450,000 in H.R. 133 Stimulus funding for the 2021 grant cycle. Application guidelines and details can be found in the Request for Application document.

Request for Application
Application Cover Sheet
Application Template

For the one-time H.R. 133 Stimulus Program, the Kansas Department of Agriculture seeks to fund projects that primarily fit into education, economic development, COVID-19 impacts, and conservation or sustainability of specialty crops, with a special emphasis for this program on COVID-19 Impacts.

The H.R. 133 Program will run on an opposite cycle from the traditional program, with projects beginning in the spring. The grant period must begin no later than March 31, 2022 (or as soon as the funding is released by USDA if later) and end no later than March 30, 2023, or one year from issuance of funds if later than April 1, 2022.

Complete applications must be sent to KDA no later than 5:00 p.m. CST on November 24, 2021. Early submission during the open application period from October 7 to November 24 is encouraged. Please e-mail finished applications with the attached cover sheets to KDA.SCBG@ks.gov. If the application cannot be submitted via email, please contact the grant administrator for alternate submission.


Please see below for a summary of projects that have been funded in previous years. 

Background on Specialty Crop Block Grant Program

Since 2006, the U.S. Department of Agriculture has made available grants to state departments of agriculture solely to enhance the competitiveness of specialty crops. The current funding for the program was established in the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 (Farm Bill,) which authorized the USDA to provide grants to states for each of the fiscal years 2008 through 2012 to enhance the competitiveness of specialty crops. This program was renewed in the 2014 Farm Bill, and again in 2018.

Applications for grant funds should show how the project potentially impacts and produces measurable outcomes for the specialty crop industry and/or the public rather than a single organization, institution, or individual.  Grant funds will not be awarded for projects that solely benefit a particular commercial product or provide a profit to a single organization, institution, or individual.  Single organizations, institutions, and individuals are encouraged to participate as project partners.

Applicants must be a legal entity and have the legal capacity to contract.

Specialty crops are defined by the USDA as fruits and vegetables, tree nuts, dried fruits and nursery crops, including floriculture.  Projects are required to “enhance the competitiveness of specialty crops,” per the USDA’s guidelines. Projects of particular interest to the Kansas Department of Agriculture are those that explore economic development and education, as related to the Kansas specialty crop industry.  For more information about the specialty crop block grant program, including a current list of eligible crops, visit USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service.

For additional information on this program, contact Tori Laird.

Specialty Crop Block Grant Recipients

  • 2021 Recipients

  • 2020 Recipients

  • 2019 Recipients

  • 2018 Recipients

  • 2017 Recipients

  • 2016 Recipients

  • 2015 Recipients

  • 2014 Recipients

  • 2013 Recipients

  • 2012 Recipients

  • 2010 Recipients

  • 2009 Recipients

  • 2008 Recipients

  • 2007 Recipients