
 

 

Food Safety Fact Sheet 
Licensed Egg Producer 

 
The Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA) is responsible for enforcing the Kansas Egg Law. The Kansas Egg 
Law requires an egg producer license to sell graded eggs or to sell eggs to other than the end consumer, regardless 
of the size of the production flock.  

The license fee is $5.00. The license expires on December 31 and must be renewed annually. The license fee and 
Egg License Application must be submitted to KDA. If you are a producer who sells graded eggs to the end 
consumer or sells eggs to grocery stores, restaurants, or institutions, you must pay the egg inspection fee in addition 
to the egg producer license fee. The egg inspection fee is 3.5 mills ($0.0035) per dozen eggs. The egg inspection 
fee can be paid quarterly or per dozen. To pay quarterly you must submit the Quarterly Fee Application portion of 
the Egg License Application. The Egg Quarterly Inspection Report and the correct egg inspection fee must be 
submitted to KDA by the end of each quarter. There is a $15.00 minimum egg inspection fee per quarter. 
Alternatively, the egg inspection fee can be paid by purchasing from KDA egg inspection fee stamps to be affixed 
on each carton. One egg inspection fee stamp covers the egg inspection fee for one dozen eggs. Egg inspection fee 
stamps come in rolls of 1,000 stamps. Each roll of 1,000 stamps is specific to a combination of size and grade, or 
the generic stamp can be used and the size and grade written on the stamp. The stamp must be dated, which serves 
to cancel the stamp. 

Each container must be graded* and must meet the labeling requirements of the Kansas Egg Law. The outside of 
each carton must be labeled with: 

 The size and quality of eggs, which must be printed in boldface type letters at least 3/8 inch high 
 The identity of the eggs (for eggs other than chicken eggs, for example duck, goose, quail, etc.) 
 The name and address of the packer 
 The pack date (month/day or Julian date)  
 The expiration date preceded by “exp.” or “sell by” (should not exceed pack date by more than 45 days) 
 Safe handling instructions that must include the statements: 

o “Keep refrigerated at or below 45 degrees Fahrenheit” printed on the outside of the carton 
o “To prevent illness from bacteria: Keep eggs refrigerated, cook eggs until yolks are firm, and cook 

foods containing eggs thoroughly” printed either on the outside or the inside of the carton.  

All labeling information must be in English and must be accurate. 

There are no specific requirements for egg graders. However, all eggs must meet the size and grade requirements in 
USDA AMS 56 (July 2000)  

https://www.ams.usda.gov/sites/default/files/media/Shell_Egg_Standard%5B1%5D.pdf 

More information about grading is available in the USDA Egg Grading Manual. 

https://www.ams.usda.gov/sites/default/files/media/Egg%20Grading%20Manual.pdf 

Please contact KDA by email (kda.fsl@ks.gov), phone (785-564-6767), or fax (785-565-6779) if you have any 
questions. 

* Only chicken eggs have size and grade specifications. All other egg varieties must be labeled with egg type (duck, 
goose, quail, etc.). 
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