

REGISTERED TECHNICIAN TRAINING PESTICIDE AND FERTILIZER PROGRAM

AUGUST 2015

Every pesticide business that applies pesticides for the control of wood-destroying (7A), structural (7E), ornamental (3A), turf (3B) or interior landscape (3C) pests and who employs uncertified applicators is required by the Kansas Pesticide Law to have a registered technician training program.

All uncertified applicators must be trained within 90 days after they are employed. All training programs must consist of a minimum of 10 hours of classroom training and 30 hours of on-the-job training. If you hire someone to be trained as a registered technician, you must notify the Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA) within 30 days following the date of their employment. Uncertified applicators may only apply pesticides when a certified applicator or registered technician is **physically present**.

NEW BUSINESSES must submit a training program with their Kansas pesticide business license application. Businesses will have 90 days to ensure their uncertified applicators become certified or are trained as registered technicians.

Renewing Businesses must indicate any changes in their training programs for the next year if they have not already notified KDA.

REGISTERED TECHNICIAN PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS:

STEP 1: Select one of the four options listed below for classroom training of your uncertified applicators. *OPTION 1: PURCHASE A PROGRAM FROM THE FOLLOWING SOURCES:*

Categories 3A & 3B (For sale)
Midwest Landscape Professionals
(formerly MAGIC)
P.O. Box 419264
Kansas City, MO. 64141-6264
(816) 561-5323

Categories 3A, 3B & 7A, 7E

CTN Educational Services
P.O. Box 90233

Austin, TX 78709

(512) 288-8288

Video training for sale: https://ctnedu.com/online-classes/kansas-applicator-training/

Categories 7A & 7E (Member benefit)
Kansas Pest Control Association
212 SW 8th Ave. Suite 202
Topeka, KS 66603
(785) 271-9220

Option 2: Send employees to an approved training session

Only for 3A & 3B - contact Midwest Landscape Professionals (816) 561-5323

OPTION 3: KSU CERTIFICATION MANUALS

Your training program may be based on the certification manuals if you will completely cover the appropriate manuals (General and Category) and review labels and equipment that you will be using for a minimum total of 10 hours of classroom training and 30 hours of on-the-job training. All programs must include the current KDA statement of service handout. Programs in 7A must also state that they will include termite definitions in K.A.R. 4-13-1 and termite control application procedures in K.A.R. 4-13-7 and 4-13-26.

Option 4: Develop your own training program

Develop a detailed outline of your training program, indicating the time spent on each topic and the references you will be using for each topic. The references may be any books, publications, slides, videos or computer based programs that you wish to use in training. The required topics are listed in K.A.R. 4-13-36 and 4-13-38 and an outline format is available from KDA.

- STEP 2: Complete the Initial Training Program Checklist or send a letter to KDA stating which program you will be using or include your training outline. KDA will review your program and inform you if any changes are needed in your program.
- Train your uncertified applicators and keep detailed records of all their training using the KDA form as a guide. **Records must be kept for three years and contain the following:**

Typed or printed name of trainee

Subject matter covered and type of training, classroom or on-the-job

Date and duration of each training session in hours

Signature of the trainee and signature of authorized officer or representative of the pesticide business licensee who administered the training.

- Submit a completed registered pest control technician application and fees to KDA. The registration fee is \$40.00 per applicant, unless the \$15.00 uncertified applicator fee has previously been paid in the calendar year. If the fee has been paid, then the registration fee is \$25.00.
- STEP 5: KDA will provide identification cards through the KDA portal which must be in the possession of the registered technician during all applications. All pesticides, both general use and restricted use, may only be applied under the supervision of a certified applicator. The certified applicator must provide instructions on the handling and application of the pesticide being used and be available by telephone, radio or comparable means when the pesticide is being applied. The registered technician must be stationed at and working from the same business address as the supervising certified applicator.
- Renew your technician registrations every year as they expire December 31st of each calendaryear. Businesses may renew technicians online through the KDA portal. The business is responsible for ensuring that each technician receives six (6) hours of training every year before renewal.

Every uncertified applicator you hire must go through your initial training program even if they have been previously trained as a registered technician at another pesticide business. When a registered technician leaves your employ, their registration becomes void and they are considered an uncertified applicator.