
This process uses heat and water with a chemical solution to dispose of the animal in a process that is efficient 
and environmentally friendly. This method is used at the Kansas State University Veterinary Health Center. 

		  Questions? Contact the Kansas State Veterinary Diagnostic Lab at 866-512-5650. 

Equine Disposal Options 

Compost

Landfill

Burial

Cremation

Biocremation

Rendering

Cremation is only available through commercial companies. Current information indicates only one commercial 
company is practicing horse cremation: Rolling Acres Horse Cremation and Burial Services at 12200 N. Crooked 
Rd. in Kansas City, Missouri, 816-891-8888 or 888-891-0988. Open burning on pyres is prohibited. 

Resources for Equine Disposal Information: 
This document was created as a collaborative effort between: 

Kansas Department of Agriculture — www.agriculture.ks.gov/animalhealth 
Kansas Department of Health and Environment — www.kdheks.gov/waste 

Kansas Horse Council — www.kansashorsecouncil.com
September 2018

When it comes time to make decisions regarding the end of your horse’s life, make sure you understand the     
options for disposal of the body, so you are prepared to make the best choice for your horse. The following      
disposal options are available, regardless of the cause of death or method of euthanasia.  

Composting is defined as a controlled process of decomposing organic solids into a stable, humus-like material. 
The Kansas Department of Health and Environment requires a permit for any composting area exceeding 0.5 
acres. For composting areas 0.5 acres or less, registration is necessary but no permit is required.  

		  Questions? Contact the KDHE Bureau of Waste Management at 785-296-1600 for guidance. 

Some landfills in the state allow animal disposal, and others do not. Most charge a fee, and some require the 
dropoff to be scheduled. 

		  Questions? Call your local landfill for more information about local regulations and fees.  

State law advises that individuals may dispose of solid waste from their own residential or agricultural activities 
on their own land, in accordance with specified guidelines. All animals should be buried within 48 hours and 
covered with a minimum of 3 feet of soil.  

		  Questions? For more details about burial guidelines, contact KDHE at 785-296-1600.

Rendering is currently not an option for equine disposal in Kansas.   


