Kansas Department of Agriculture

1320 Research Park, Manhattan, KS 66502

COMMERCIAL CERTIFICATION EXAMINATION SCHEDULE 2021

By Request Only*

These examinations are to provide an opportunity for pesticide applicators to qualify for original or renewal commercial certification under the Kansas Pesticide Law. <u>Study manuals</u> are available through the KSU Bookstore or by calling the KSU Bookstore at (785) 532-5830 or County Extension Offices.

Applicants must furnish current photo identification at time of taking examinations. A valid Kansas driver's license is preferred. Pre-registration is required. **Do not bring cell phones, electronic devices, or study material into the exam room**. If you need further information, contact the Examiner.

Exam Fees: All exams are \$45 each. The General Exam and any retakes are also \$45 each. **Cash will not be accepted.**

<u>credit card</u> or <u>ACH</u> to KDA is required.

For initial certification, both the General and one category/subcategory exam must be passed within 12 months of each other. If you pass one of the exams, you have 12 months from the date you passed that exam to pass the second exam. You are not certified until you pass both exams. Applicants must be 18 years of age or older to be eligible for commercial applicator certification.

To Renew – Applicators may test beginning in October of the year their certification expires. The General exam is required when renewing by testing, including late renewal after Dec 31st.

Exam results will be emailed to you using the email on your application.

*Due to Covid-19 Pandemic, exam seating is limited and subject to change or cancelation. Preregistration is required, and walk-ins will not be accepted.

How to Request an Exam:

- 1. Fill out the following forms completely or request may be rejected.
 - a. Commercial Applicator Application
 - i. Select subcategory for exam to be taken
 - ii. Answer all questions
 - iii. Sign application
 - b. Payment Form
 - i. List dollar amount
 - ii. Sign form
- 2. Contact Examiner for requested date and location to preregister for exam.
 - a. Email Commercial Applicator Application and Payment Form as **PDF** attachments.
 - b. Provide in email your preferred exam date and location.

CITY	LOCATION	DATE	EXAMINER
Olathe	Johnson Co. Extension Office 11811 S. Sunset Drive, Olathe (Off of Ridgeview Rd, ~ 118th Street)	May 4 th (Tue)	Jennifer Gilpin
			(785) 256-3182
			Jennifer.Gilpin@ks.gov
Dodge	Ford County Fair Building 901 West Park Street, Dodge City	May 11 th (Tue)	Shawn Plunkett
			(785) 845-9960
			Shawn.Plunkett@ks.gov
Wichita	Sedgwick Co. Extension Ed. Center 4-H Hall A 7001 West 21 st Street, Wichita (21 st & Ridge Rd)	May 12 th (Wed)	Kent Spor
			(785) 256-3929
			Kent.Spor@ks.gov
Hays	KSU Agricultural Research Center 1232 240th Ave, Hays	May 19 th (Wed)	Josh Kastens
			(785) 845-4147
			Josh.Kastens@ks.gov
Topeka	Museum of the National Guard 125 SE Airport SE Dr, Topeka	May 27 th (Thur)	Ken Silver
			(785) 207-2104
			Kenneth.Silver@ks.gov

JUNE EXAMS

ONLINE Pre-Registration

Pre-Register for exam(s) online to reserve your seat. If you have already taken an exam before and do not know your certification number, please contact KDA.PestFert@ks.gov or 785-564-6688.

*Due to Covid-19 Pandemic, exam seating is limited and subject to change or cancelation. Pre-registration online is required, and walk-ins will <u>not</u> be accepted.