

WHO IS REQUIRED TO BE CERTIFIED?

A pesticide business must employ one or more persons who maintain commercial pesticide applicator certification in each subcategory in which the pesticide business makes commercial pesticide applications. All individuals who apply restricted use pesticides are required to have commercial certification, except the following:

- 1. Anyone who uses pesticides within the authority granted under private applicator certification
- 2. Those who work for a pesticide business using ground (non-aerial) application methods and who work under the supervision of a certified commercial applicator
- 3. Veterinarians or physicians, as part of their professional services
- 4. Laboratory personnel in pesticide use research; and
- 5. Employees of a federal agency which has its own certification program

How does one qualify for commercial certification?

- 1. Be 18 years of age or older
- 2. Submit a completed application for commercial certification
- 3. Pass a closed book exam in each category/subcategory of application plus the General Exam. A score of 75% or greater is required to pass each exam
- 4. Pay required fees of \$45 per exam. The General Exam and any exam retakes are also each \$45

For initial commercial certification, both the General and at least one category/subcategory exam must be passed within 12 months of each other. If you pass one of the exams, you have 12 months from the date you passed that exam to pass the second exam. If the second exam is not passed within that 12 month interval you will have to retake both exams.

Reciprocal Certification

Certified applicators from other states still need to apply for and obtain Kansas commercial applicator certification. Kansas has reciprocal agreements with <u>Missouri</u>, <u>Nebraska</u>, <u>Oklahoma</u>, <u>Texas</u>, <u>Minnesota</u> and <u>Indiana</u> for commercial certification in limited categories and subcategories. Under these reciprocal agreements, applicators must submit a completed application, pay the \$75 per category reciprocity fee but do not need to take the Kansas certification exams. Kansas residents are not eligible for certification in Kansas by reciprocity. However, they may reciprocate their Kansas certification to other states with reciprocal agreements. For initial certification through reciprocity, contact Licensing at (785) 564-6735.

EFFECTIVE PERIOD

The commercial applicator's certificate will expire on December 31 of the second calendar year after the year of issue, unless a sufficient and timely application for renewal including appropriate fees is received prior to that date.

CERTIFICATES AND POCKET CARDS

A certificate and pocket card is issued to each person who satisfactorily completes the requirements for certification. The certified applicator must produce the certificate or pocket card when requested to do so by a customer, law enforcement official, the Secretary or a Kansas Department of Agriculture employee.

CERTIFICATION RENEWAL

In the fall of the year your certification expires, you will receive an application to renew your certification for the succeeding three year period. You must submit the completed application with the applicable fees by December 31 and have either attended appropriate training approved by the Kansas Department of Agriculture during the effective period of your certification or passed the closed-book exams required for renewal. For those who attended complete training during their certification period, the application form and fees will be accepted for 30 days following the certification expiration date. Renewal may also be obtained by reciprocity for out-of-state residents for limited states and specific certification categories. Applicators must renew by the December 31 expiration date of their certification to maintain continuous certification.

Report of Address Change

A certified commercial applicator is required to notify the Kansas Department of Agriculture of any change in mailing address within 30 days of the change. Without notification, the applicator will not be able to receive the renewal application or any other mailings from the Department.

WRITTEN STATEMENT OF SERVICE

Applicators working for a business licensee must keep records of all pesticide applications, including both general use and restricted use pesticides. Commercial applicators not employed or otherwise acting for a business licensee are required to keep records of only restricted use pesticide applications. See <u>Requirements</u> for <u>Statements of Service</u>. Application records must be kept for three years after the application of pesticides and must be available upon request by the Kansas Department of Agriculture.

SUPERVISION OF UNCERTIFIED APPLICATORS

An uncertified applicator of pesticides, including a registered pest control technician, must apply pesticides under the supervision of a certified applicator and both individuals must be stationed at and work from the same business address. This includes the application of both general use and restricted use pesticides.

Supervision requirements:

- 1. The certified applicator must provide the uncertified applicator with instructions in the handling and application of the pesticide being used
- 2. The certified applicator shall be available to the uncertified applicator by telephone, two-way radio, or other comparable means of communication when the pesticide is being applied
- **3**. The certified applicator shall be physically present if that person's presence is required by the pesticide label
- 4. The certified applicator shall verify that the requirements of this regulation were met when requested to do so by the secretary or the secretary's authorized representative

Note: An uncertified applicator may not apply any pesticide in subcategories 3A, 3B, 3C, 7A or 7E without a certified applicator or registered pest control technician being physically present. An uncertified applicator in these subcategories must become a certified applicator or a registered technician within 90 days.