

Grocery & Retail Stores Licensing Guide

The Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA) is devoted to the total support of agriculture in Kansas. While we must fulfill our statutory obligations, the department is dedicated to providing support and assistance to make Kansas farms, ranches and agribusinesses successful and help them grow if that is their desire. We also encourage more farms, ranches and other agriculture businesses to expand in or relocate to Kansas. This checklist will help guide you through various resources and requirements for opening and operating a typical Kansas grocery or retail store. In addition to license requirements by KDA, other Kansas agencies, as well as local or federal government agencies, may have regulatory requirements to follow. Contact your local planning authority to ensure you follow all local business development laws, rules, regulations and guidelines. This guide is designed to assist you as you work to build and operate a successful grocery or retail store in Kansas.

√	Department	Description	Renewal
	Center for Engagement and Community Development	<u>Kansas Rural Grocery Store Initiative</u> partners with organizations to create new models for rural business development and sustainability among grocery stores in rural communities. Contact (785) 532-6868 for more information.	Prior to starting
	www.ruralgrocery.org		
	Office of the Secretary of State	Complete the appropriate business entity <u>filings and forms</u> required by the Kansas Secretary of State. Call (785) 296-4564 for more information.	Prior to starting
	https://sos.ks.gov/		
	Department of Revenue — Division of Taxation	Visit the Department of Revenue website to find important <u>business tax information</u> (sales tax, withholding tax, etc.) and to review pertinent information about cigarettes, tobacco products and consumable material.	Prior to starting
	www.ksrevenue.gov	A Retail Dealer Cigarette/E-Cigarette license is required for any business selling cigarettes and/or e-cigarettes over the counter. The license fee is \$25 for each location and is renewed every two calendar years. Complete form <u>CG-109</u> , <u>Application for Cigarette License</u> or <u>CR-16</u> , <u>Kansas Business Tax Application</u> , if applying for multiple tax types.	Biannual renewal on even years
		Tobacco retailers are not licensed at this time. Tobacco distributor licenses are \$25 per calendar year.	— Yearly
		A tax is imposed upon the privilege of selling or dealing in electronic cigarettes. Each distributor of consumable material must apply for a certificate of registration. Complete form EC-1, Application for Consumable Material Tax Registration. Monthly reports must be submitted with the applicable tax payment.	
		All cigarette, tobacco and e-cigarette retailers must register to collect Kansas Retailer's Sales Tax.	
		Contact Cigarette/Tobacco at (785) 368-8222 (option 5, then option 4) or email kdor_cigtob@ks.gov .	
	Department of Agriculture — Food Safety and Lodging	Complete the Food Establishment License. Specialized processing, like vacuum packaging, requires a variance approval. The Plan Review application is available to assist in planning a new facility. For more information, contact the Food Safety and	Prior to starting,
	www.agriculture.ks.gov	Lodging Program at (785) 564-6767 or KDA.FSL@ks.gov.	Annual renewal March 31
	USDA Food and Nutrition Service	<u>Apply online</u> to accept Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits at your store or call (877) 823-4369.	Reauthorize every 5 years
	www.fns.usda.gov		
	Department of Agriculture — Weights and Measures www.agriculture.ks.gov	Businesses with retail fuel meters (e.g. pumps, dispensers, delivery trucks, hydrants) must hire a service company to install, inspect, test, repair, adjust and certify the meters. The Kansas Department of Agriculture will inspect and test the retail fuel meters every 18 months. For more information, visit the Weights and Measures Program webpage or call (785) 564-6681.	Annual service



Grocery & Retail Stores Licensing Guide

✓	Department	Description	Renewal
	Department of Agriculture — Pesticides and Fertilizers	Any retail business (including grocery stores, convenience stores and hardware stores) or person who sells a pesticide to another person for application must complete the Pesticide Dealer Registration and Application .	Prior to July 1
	www.agriculture.ks.gov	For more information, visit the <u>Pesticide and Fertilizer Program</u> webpage or call (785) 564-6688.	
	Kansas Department of Revenue — Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) www.ksrevenue.gov	Kansas law restricts the sale of alcohol in grocery stores to Cereal Malt Beverages (CMB) that are 3.2% alcohol by weight or less and beer that is 6% alcohol by volume or less. CMB licenses are issued by the local governing authority, the city or county, not by the Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC). The city or county also collects the \$25 State CMB Stamp fee and affixes it to your license. Information and application forms can be found on the ABC website or you may contact ABC at (785) 296-7015.	Prior to opening
	U.S. Department of the Treasury — Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB)	Retail beverage alcohol dealers are required under federal law to complete the <u>Alcohol Dealer Registration</u> . Consult the <u>TTB website</u> for more information or to <u>apply online</u> .	Prior to opening
	Kansas State Board of Pharmacy www.pharmacy.ks.gov	Certain applications and forms are necessary to complete for sales on nonprescription and prescription drugs. Review the full list of applications and forms or contact pharmacy@ks.gov , Statutes and Regulations: Webpage , Facility and Business applications: Forms , FAQ for licensing: FAQ	Varies
	Kansas Lottery www.kslottery.com	If selling lottery tickets, complete the <u>Kansas Lottery Application</u> . For more information, view the <u>Kansas Lottery</u> webpage or call (800) 322-5688.	Prior to selling tickets
	Kansas Department of Health and Environment — Bureau of Air www.kdheks.gov	Gasoline dispensing facilities are subject to a federal air regulation. A guidance document is available to assist in determining regulatory requirements. Refer to the <u>Standard Construction Permit/Approval for Gasoline Dispensing Facilities</u> if applicable. For more information, review the <u>KDHE Bureau of Air</u> website or call (785) 296-6024.	Life of facility
	Department of Health and Environment — Bureau of Environmental Remediation, Storage Tank Section www.kdheks.gov	For stores selling fuel there are multiple steps required for aboveground storage tanks (AST) and underground storage tanks (UST). Review the KDHE Storage Tank Section website for further information or call (785) 296-1678 for permitting information. The Kansas Small Business Environmental Assistance Program (SBEAP) has AST program highlights and registration requirements in addition to assistance with UST inventory control.	August 1
	Office of the State Fire Marshal (OFSM) prevention@ks.gov	Review the <u>forms for aboveground storage tanks</u> and complete the appropriate forms. For more information, contact (785) 296-3401.	Prior to starting
	www.firemarshal.ks.gov	With aboveground tanks only.	
	United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS), Perishable Agricultural Commodities Act (PACA) Division www.ams.usda.gov	Any person who buys or sells more than 2,000 pounds of fresh or frozen fruits and vegetables in any given day is required to be licensed under the Perishable Agricultural Commodities Act (PACA). Wholesalers, processors, grocery wholesalers and foodservice firms fit into this category. Additionally, any entity selling at retail is subject to a PACA license once the invoice costs of fresh and frozen fruits and vegetable purchases exceed \$230,000 in a calendar year. For additional information, visit the AMS Perishable Agricultural Commodities Act website or call (800) 495-7222.	Prior to opening

Kansas Department of Agriculture Phone: (785) 564-6700 Email: ksag@ks.gov Website: http://

Website: http://agriculture.ks.gov

This guide is for informational purposes only. It is not intended to be an exhaustive list of requirements for operating a Kansas agribusiness entity. Please contact the appropriate agencies or organizations for specific requirements applicable to your business.