Greg A. Foley, Executive Director



phone: 785-296-3600 fax: 785-296-6172 scc@scc.ks.gov www.scc.ks.gov

State Conservation Commission

Sam Brownback, Governor

MINUTES OF THE STATE CONSERVATION COMMISSION

1. The State Conservation Commission conference call meeting was called to order by Rod Vorhees, Chairman and Area V Commissioner at 9:05 a.m. Friday, February 4, 2011 presiding over the conference call.

2. ATTENDANCE:

Elected Commissioners:

Ted Nighswonger, Area I Commissioner Andy Larson, Area II Commissioner Brad Shogren, Area III Commissioner John Wunder, Area IV Commissioner Rod Vorhees, Area V Commissioner

Ex-Officio & Appointed Member:

Eric Banks, State Conservationist, USDA, Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) Dan Devlin, Director, Kansas Center for Agricultural Resources and the Environment (KCARE), K-State Research and Extension

Phil Barnes, Associate Professor, Water Quality, Biological and Agricultural Engineering, K-State Research and Extension

Staff:

Greg Foley, Executive Director Scott Carlson, Assistant Director Max Foster, Chief Fiscal Officer

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Motion by Andy Larson to approve the agenda as presented. Seconded by Brad Shogren. Motion carried.

4. GUESTS:

Chris Wilson, Assistant Secretary, Kansas Department of Agriculture Pat Lehman, Executive Director, Kansas Association of Conservation Districts

5. UNFINISHED BUSINESS:

a. Review and take possible action on the Governor's Executive Reorganization Order (ERO) consolidating the State Conservation Commission (SCC) in the Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA) creating the Division of Conservation effective July 1, 2011 – Greg Foley.

No action taken.

6. ADJOURN:

The next regular Commission meeting is scheduled for April 11, 2011 (time to TBD) at Topeka, Kansas.

Motion by Andy Larson to adjourn. Seconded by Ted Nighswonger. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 10:55 a.m.

Greg A. Foley, Executive Director