Applications for Industrial Hemp Research Program

The Kansas Department of Agriculture is implementing the Industrial Hemp Research Program as authorized by the Alternative Crop Research Act (K.S.A. 2-3901 et seq.).

The application window for licenses for 2019 has been extended to June 1. To be considered for a research license for the 2019 growing season, you must submit your research license application, including your research proposal, all required attachments, including fingerprint cards and waiver forms, and applicable fees by new June 1 deadline. Submit all materials in one mailing to KDA, Attn: Industrial Hemp Research Program, 1320 Research Park Drive, Manhattan, KS 66502, postmarked by June 1, 2019. Applications that are not postmarked by June 1, 2019, will not be accepted. *Note that the KDA office will not be open on June 1 to accept hand-delivered applications. Applications must be postmarked by June 1 or hand-delivered by May 31.

Applications

There are FOUR DIFFERENT APPLICATIONS, one for each different license type.

How to Submit Your Application

  • Submit together in one mailing:

  • Send to:

  • Deadline: June 1

  • State and National Criminal History Background Check

  • What if I submitted a Pre-Application and Pre-Application Research Proposal?

  • Guidelines for Filling Out Research License Applications

  • Important Deadlines

Program Fees: when and how to pay

  • Application Fee

  • Background Check fee

  • License Fee

  • Payment Options

Request for Permission Forms

Application Review Process

  1. Complete application arrives at KDA (including the application, research proposal, fingerprint cards, waivers, and applicable fees).
  2. Fingerprint cards and waivers are sent immediately to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation to begin the state and national criminal history check. The background check is expected to take 7-10 business days.
  3. Complete applications will be reviewed by administrative staff at KDA to ensure they meet all program requirements.
  4. When the results have been received from the KBI, complete applications will be reviewed by the Industrial Hemp Advisory Board and a recommendation will be made to the Secretary of Agriculture, who will then either approve or deny the application for licensure.
  5. If the Secretary approves the application, you will be notified that you have been conditionally approved and you will be required to send in the applicable license fee.
  6. Your license fee is due within 15 days of being notified of your conditional approval. If you do not pay the license fee within 15 days, your conditional approval shall be terminated, and your requested licenses shall not be issued. Full List of Program Fees
  7. Once your license fee is received, your license will be issued.
  8. See this table of Industrial Hemp Important Deadlines for additional dates which will apply to licensed participants of the Industrial Hemp Research Program
* Watch your email! The primary method of communication throughout this process will be via email.

Open Records

Research license applications, research proposals, and any attachments submitted to KDA are subject to public disclosure pursuant to the Kansas Open Records Act. You must maintain a copy of your completed Research License Application, all attachments, and, if applicable, the mailing receipt and tracking number for your records. Record retention is required by regulation.