Current Growers


2024 Applications and Licensing
As a reminder, hemp producer licenses expire annually December 31. License applications for the 2024 growing season became available September 2023. The deadline to apply for the 2024 growing season is March 15, 2024. For more information about commercial industrial hemp producer applications, please visit: Industrial Hemp Homepage.

As a licensed industrial hemp producer, only authorized seed or clone plants of industrial hemp are permitted for use in the program. The document below provides information relating to how industrial hemp is defined in Kansas, as well as the requirements for its use by individuals licensed pursuant to the Commercial Industrial Hemp Act K.S.A. 2-3901 et seq. (and amendments thereto) and the Kansas Seed Law K.S.A. 2-1415 et. seq. (and amendments thereto). 

Authorized Seed or Clone Plants of Industrial Hemp Fact Sheet

Notice on Transportation of Industrial Hemp

Licensing Guide and Helpful Business Development Resources for Industrial Hemp Producers 

Controlling Naturalized and Volunteer Cannabis

Reports and How to File

Table 1. Established deadlines and applicable reports for the Commercial Industrial Hemp Program



Due to KDA


License Application

Each individual seeking a license to grow or cultivate industrial hemp

March 15 each year

No later than March 15 for each subsequent growing season

Planting Report


The commercial industrial hemp producer licensee

No more than 15 days after each planting, including replanting of seeds or propagules; must provide USDA FSA hemp acreage reporting information

Hemp acreage reporting information must be filed with USDA-FSA; please consult your county FSA office

Pre-Harvest Report


The commercial hemp producer licensee

No fewer than 30 days prior to each intended harvest date

Voluntary Destruction Report

The commercial hemp producer licensee

No more than 14 days after conducting the effective disposal

Harvest Report

The commercial hemp producer licensee

No more than 15 days after each harvest

License Expiration

The commercial hemp producer licensee

December 31 of each license year

Table 2. Request Forms for the Commercial Industrial Hemp Program



Due to KDA

Request for Modification of License

The commercial hemp producer licensee

Before conducting requested activities

Request for Permission (General)

The commercial hemp producer applicant or licensee

At the time of an application submission or request for modification of license

Request for License Transfer

The individual applying for license transfer

No fewer than 60 days of the licensee’s death or disability; or no fewer than 60 days from the date an entity has legal repossession

State Educational Institution Request

The individual designated as the primary licensee

At the time of an application submission

How to Submit Reports or Request Forms

By email:
Please name the file: KDA license number: Licensee’s Name – Hemp Producer, Report Type, date submitted (ex. 20_XXXX: First Name Last Name- Hemp Producer Report Type DD.MM.YYYY)
Acceptable file types: .pdf, .jpeg; .png

By mail:
Kansas Department of Agriculture
Commercial Industrial Hemp Program
1320 Research Park Dr.
Manhattan, KS 66502
Acceptable file types: 8 x 11 in. paper copy

Your Industrial Hemp License Information online:

KDA Portal is designed to help individuals and companies manage the way they do business with KDA. A commercial industrial hemp producer licensee has access to the KDA Portal and may utilize the following license features: 

• License Information
• Report Submissions
• Report Summaries 

Reports submitted by email or through the portal will have a much quicker response receipt. Request forms are not currently eligible to be submitted through the portal.

If you are having trouble accessing the industrial hemp report forms, your industrial hemp license information online, or have any questions, please contact KDA by email at

Active License Information

A search of active licenses is available for public reference. The license search option provides real-time information.

Please access the portal following the link below:

The Kansas Department of Agriculture will not provide contact information for the individuals listed without completion of an open records request and a confirmation of a confidentiality agreement. – Information obtained from an open records request shall not be utilized for solicitation purposes. PROHIBITED USES: K.S.A. 45-230 prohibits the use of names and addresses derived from public records for certain commercial purposes. Violation of this law can result in a civil penalty not to exceed $500 for each violation.

DriftWatch, Kansas Specialty and Sensitive Crop Registry

Driftwatch logo

DriftWatch Inc. is an online service that provides a place for specialty and sensitive crop producers, including hemp producers, to map their crop locations. Pesticide applicators can use the website to find specialty and sensitive crop locations in an effort to minimize the potential for damaging pesticide drift. Hemp producers may map their fields and register for notifications by signing up at

If you suspect that a pesticide has been misused, including herbicide drift, visit KDA’s Pesticide Complaint Form.

Direct questions to KDA’s Pesticide and Fertilizer team at or call 785-564-6688.