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✓ Department Description Renewal 

 Center for Engagement and 
Community Development 
 
www.ruralgrocery.org 

Kansas Rural Grocery Store Initiative partners with organizations to create new models 
for rural business development and sustainability among grocery stores in rural 
communities. Contact (785) 532-6868 for more information.  
 

Prior to 
starting 

  Office of the Secretary of 
State 
  
https://sos.ks.gov/ 

Complete the appropriate business entity filings and forms required by the Kansas 
Secretary of State. Call (785) 296-4564 for more information. 

  

Prior to 
starting 

  Department of  Revenue — 
Division of Taxation 
 
www.ksrevenue.gov  

Visit the Department of Revenue website to find important business tax information 
(sales tax, withholding tax, etc.) and to review pertinent information about cigarettes, 
tobacco products and consumable material. 
  
A Retail Dealer Cigarette/E-Cigarette license is required for any business selling 
cigarettes and/or e-cigarettes over the counter. The license fee is $25 for each location 
and is renewed every two calendar years. Complete form CG-109, Application for 
Cigarette License or CR-16, Kansas Business Tax Application, if applying for multiple 
tax types. 
  
Tobacco retailers are not licensed at this time. Tobacco distributor licenses are $25 per 
calendar year. 
  
A tax is imposed upon the privilege of selling or dealing in electronic cigarettes. Each 
distributor of consumable material must apply for a certificate of registration. Complete 
form EC-1, Application for Consumable Material Tax Registration. Monthly reports must 
be submitted with the applicable tax payment. 
  
All cigarette, tobacco and e-cigarette retailers must register to collect Kansas Retailer’s 
Sales Tax.  
  
Contact Cigarette/Tobacco at (785) 368-8222 (option 5, then option 4) or email 
kdor_cigtob@ks.gov.  

Prior to 
starting 

 
—  

Biannual 
renewal on 
even years 

 
 
 
 

—  
Yearly 

 

 Department of Agriculture 
— Food Safety and 
Lodging 
 
www.agriculture.ks.gov 

Complete the Food Establishment License. Specialized processing, like vacuum 
packaging, requires a variance approval. The Plan Review application is available to 
assist in planning a new facility. For more information, contact the Food Safety and 
Lodging Program at (785) 564-6767 or KDA.FSL@ks.gov.  
 

Prior to 
starting,  

 
Annual 
renewal 

March 31 

 USDA Food and Nutrition 
Service  
 
www.fns.usda.gov 

Apply online to accept Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits at 
your store or call (877) 823-4369.  

Reauthorize 
every 5 years  

  Department of Agriculture 
— Weights and Measures 
  
www.agriculture.ks.gov 

Businesses with retail fuel meters (e.g. pumps, dispensers, delivery trucks, hydrants) must 
hire a service company to install, inspect, test, repair, adjust and certify the meters. The 
Kansas Department of Agriculture will inspect and test the retail fuel meters every 18 
months. For more information, visit the Weights and Measures Program webpage or call 
(785) 564-6681. 

Annual 
service 

 

Grocery & Retail Stores 
Licensing Guide  

The Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA) is devoted to the total support of agriculture in Kansas. While we must fulfill our 
statutory obligations, the department is dedicated to providing support and assistance to make Kansas farms, ranches and 
agribusinesses successful and help them grow if that is their desire. We also encourage more farms, ranches and other agriculture 
businesses to expand in or relocate to Kansas. This checklist will help guide you through various resources and requirements for 
opening and operating a typical Kansas grocery or retail store. In addition to license requirements by KDA, other Kansas agencies, as 
well as local or federal government agencies, may have regulatory requirements to follow. Contact your local planning authority to 
ensure you follow all local business development laws, rules, regulations and guidelines. This guide is designed to assist you as you 
work to build and operate a successful grocery or retail store in Kansas.   
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 Department of Agriculture 
—  Pesticides and 
Fertilizers 
  
www.agriculture.ks.gov 

Any retail business (including grocery stores, convenience stores and hardware stores) or 
person who sells a pesticide to another person for application must complete the Pesticide 
Dealer Registration and Application. 

For more information, visit the Pesticide and Fertilizer Program webpage or call (785) 
564-6688. 

Prior to July 1 

 Kansas Department of 
Revenue — Alcoholic 
Beverage Control (ABC) 
  
www.ksrevenue.gov  

Kansas law restricts the sale of alcohol in grocery stores to Cereal Malt Beverages 
(CMB) that are 3.2% alcohol by weight or less and beer that is 6% alcohol by volume or 
less. CMB licenses are issued by the local governing authority, the city or county, not by 
the Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC). The city or county also collects the $25 State 
CMB Stamp fee and affixes it to your license. Information and application forms can be 
found on the ABC website or you may contact ABC at (785) 296-7015.  

Prior to 
opening 

  

  U.S. Department of the 
Treasury — Alcohol and  
Tobacco Tax and Trade  
Bureau (TTB) 
 
www.ttb.gov  

Retail beverage alcohol dealers are required under federal law to complete the Alcohol 
Dealer Registration. Consult the TTB website for more information or to apply online.  

 

Prior to 
opening 

 Kansas State Board of   
Pharmacy 
  
www.pharmacy.ks.gov 

Certain applications and forms are necessary to complete for sales on nonprescription and 
prescription drugs. Review the full list of applications and forms or contact 
pharmacy@ks.gov, Statutes and Regulations: Webpage, Facility and Business 
applications: Forms, FAQ for licensing: FAQ 

Varies 

  Kansas Lottery 
  
www.kslottery.com 

If selling lottery tickets, complete the Kansas Lottery Application. For more information, 
view the Kansas Lottery webpage or call (800) 322-5688. 

Prior to selling 
tickets 

 Kansas Department of 
Health and Environment — 
Bureau of Air 

 
 www.kdheks.gov 

Gasoline dispensing facilities are subject to a federal air regulation. A guidance document 
is available to assist in determining regulatory requirements. Refer to the Standard 
Construction Permit/Approval for Gasoline Dispensing Facilities if applicable. For more 
information, review the KDHE Bureau of Air website or call (785) 296-6024.  

Life of   
facility 

 Department of Health and 
Environment — Bureau of 
Environmental 
Remediation, Storage Tank 
Section 
  
www.kdheks.gov 

For stores selling fuel there are multiple steps required for aboveground storage tanks 
(AST) and underground storage tanks (UST). Review the KDHE Storage Tank Section 
website for further information or call (785) 296-1678 for permitting information.   
  
The Kansas Small Business Environmental Assistance Program (SBEAP) has AST 
program highlights and registration requirements in addition to assistance with UST 
inventory control.  

August 1 

 Office of the State Fire 
Marshal (OFSM) 

 
 prevention@ks.gov  
www.firemarshal.ks.gov 

Review the forms for aboveground storage tanks and complete the appropriate forms. For 
more information, contact (785) 296-3401. 

With aboveground tanks only. 

Prior to 
starting 

 United States Department 
of Agriculture (USDA), 
Agricultural Marketing 
Service (AMS), Perishable 
Agricultural Commodities 
Act (PACA) Division  
 
www.ams.usda.gov  

Any person who buys or sells more than 2,000 pounds of fresh or frozen fruits and 
vegetables in any given day is required to be licensed under the Perishable Agricultural 
Commodities Act (PACA). Wholesalers, processors, grocery wholesalers and foodservice 
firms fit into this category. Additionally, any entity selling at retail is subject to a PACA 
license once the invoice costs of fresh and frozen fruits and vegetable purchases exceed 
$230,000 in a calendar year. For additional information, visit the AMS Perishable 
Agricultural Commodities Act website or call (800) 495-7222.    

Prior to 
opening  
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Kansas Department of Agriculture 

1320 Research Park Drive Manhattan, KS  66502 
Phone: (785) 564-6700       Email: ksag@ks.gov        Website: http://agriculture.ks.gov  

This guide is for informational purposes only. It is not intended to be an exhaustive list of requirements for operating a Kansas agribusiness 
entity. Please contact the appropriate agencies or organizations for specific requirements applicable to your business. 

Grocery & Retail Stores 
Licensing Guide  
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