

STEPS TO STARTING A PESTICIDE BUSINESS

PESTICIDE AND FERTILIZER PROGRAM

AUGUST 2015

The use of pesticides is regulated under the Kansas Pesticide Law and this includes herbicides, insecticides, fungicides, rodenticides and other types of pesticides. The Law requires individuals to become certified as commercial applicators and businesses to become licensed to apply pesticides to someone else's property for compensation.

Information is available online at http://www.agriculture.ks.gov/pesticidebusiness

1. Select Commercial Applicator Categories

Decide what type of pesticide application work you want to do and select the appropriate category or subcategory.

Description of <u>Commercial Pesticide Applicator Categories</u> Information on <u>Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification</u>

Application for Kansas Commercial Pesticide Applicator Certification (For reciprocity request)

2. OBTAIN STUDY MANUALS

Buy commercial pesticide applicator study manuals from either the K-State Research and Extension Bookstore or county extension offices. Everyone must take the General exam based on the General manual in addition to the category or subcategory exam.

K-State Extension Bookstore order form: http://www.bookstore.ksre.ksu.edu/pubs/PM15.pdf

Some study manuals may be downloaded for free from K-State Research and Extension: http://www.k-state.edu/pesticides-ipm/commercial-applicator.html

3. STUDY AND TAKE EXAMS

Thoroughly study the manuals and come to an exam site with a photo ID. Preregistration is not required. The application form is completed at the exam site and fees of \$45 per exam are collected. See exam schedule for more details.

Commercial Certification Examination Schedule

4. Apply for a Kansas Pesticide Business License

Business License Requirements

Pesticide Business License Application

- **A.** Fill out the application form and list all current employees who will apply pesticides.
- **B.** Pay fees of \$140 per category
- **C.** Obtain proof of financial responsibility pick one of 4 choices listed below.

Consult your insurance agent or financial institution for advice.

- 1. Liability Insurance <u>Non-aerial Insurance</u> or <u>Aerial Insurance</u>
- 2. Surety Bond
- 3. Escrow Account
- 4. Letter of Credit

D. Mail application form, fees and proof of financial responsibility to Accounts Receivable & Licensing using address on the form. Payment may be by *check*, *credit card or money order*.

5. APPLICATION RECORDS - STATEMENT OF SERVICE

Prepare statement of service forms to give to your customers and retain for your own records. These are records of all pesticide applications that you make for your customers and these will be reviewed for accuracy by KDA inspectors. These application records are for both general use and restricted use pesticides.

Requirements for Statements of Services for Kansas Pesticide Business Licensees

6. Kansas Pesticide Law

Read the Kansas Pesticide Law and Regulations on the website and call KDA with any questions.

http://agriculture.ks.gov/divisions-programs/pesticide-fertilizer.

Kansas Pesticide Law K.S.A. 2-2438a et seq.

Kansas Pesticide Regulations K.A.R. 4-13-1 et seq.

7. REGISTERED TECHNICIANS

Businesses in structural, wood-destroying, turf, ornamental or interior landscape control must train all uncertified applicators. Uncertified applicators must be certified or trained as registered technicians within 90 days of when they are hired and a technician training program must be submitted in advance to KDA. You are required to keep detailed training records for initial and renewal training.

Business Licensee Responsibilities for Registered Technician Training

Initial Training Program Checklist

Registered Technician Category 3 Training Requirements

Registered Technician Category 7 Training Requirements

Pest Control Technician Training Record

<u>Pest Control Technician Registration Application</u>

8. VEHICLE MARKING AND AERIAL DECALS

Pesticide businesses in Category 3 and 7 must mark their vehicles and airplanes in Category 1 must have a current year decal. This is outlined in #4 above in *Business License Requirements*.

9. **CHANGES** - Use Report of Change Form

KDA must be notified of any changes in business name, business locations, and the employment or termination dates of all employees applying pesticides or in training to apply pesticides. The pesticide business must notify KDA of uncertified employees who become certified.

Certified commercial applicators are required to notify KDA of home address changes within 30 days or they will not receive renewal applications and mailings.

10. RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION

Kansas residents may renew their certification by attending recertification training classes during their current certification period or retesting in the last three months of their certification period. Renewal by reciprocity is available for some out-of-state residents in specific categories.

Recertification Requirements

<u>Recertification Schedule</u> The schedule is updated as new training programs are received.

Consult Driftwatch to check for sensitive crop locations before you apply.