
Kansas Department of Agriculture 
   Pesticide & Fertilizer Program 

1320 Research Park Dr. 
Manhattan, KS 66502 

785-564-6688 
      KDA.PestFert@KS.GOV 

 

APPLICATION FOR CHEMIGATION USER’S PERMIT (CUP) 
(PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE) 
1. Permit to be Issued to:   New  Renewal No  

   Must be owner or operator of land on which chemigation is to be used 

Address:      
 Street (or R.R. & Box No.)                                     City County State ZIP 

Land Phone  Cell Phone  Fax  
E-mail Address  

SSN (if individual):  Fed. Tax I.D. No. (if business):  

 

2. (Check One)  Individual  Partnership  Corporation  Association  Other (explain)                                                      

 List the names and addresses of the officers or partners. (Attach a separate sheet, if necessary) 

Name:                                                                            Title/Office:                                          Birth Date:             

3. For each POINT OF DIVERSION (PDIV) which supplies water to an irrigation distribution system to be used for chemigation under 
this permit, list the legal description, Water Right File number, county abbreviation, and type of system.  
DO NOT REPORT CENTER PIVOT LOCATIONS.  
 

First PDIV Fee: $75                              

1       cp  dp  fl  o  
Additional PDIV Fee: $15 each 

2       cp  dp  fl  o  

3       cp  dp  fl  o  

4       cp  dp  fl  o  

5       cp  dp  fl  o  
 (Attach a separate sheet, if necessary)    
4. Chemigation Equipment Operator (CEO). List operator(s) who will be operating chemigation equipment under this User’s Permit: 

Name (Check One)  

 � New/Expired * � Currently Certified CEO No.               ** 

 � New/Expired * � Currently Certified CEO No.               ** 
(Attach a separate sheet, if necessary)  

                    * CEO Application + Exam Answer Sheet + $25 must be enclosed with this application.  
                     ** DO NOT SUBMIT PAYMENT IF CEO CURRENTLY CERTIFIED.  
5. Applicant Signature: I hereby certify that each of the above irrigation systems has been equipped with all of the required 

chemigation equipment specified by the Kansas Chemigation Safety Law as outlined in the INFORMATION AND 
REQUIREMENTS leaflet.  I certify that all systems added to my permit comply with the PLAN FOR HANDLING TAILWATER 
and the PLAN FOR USING REQUIRED ANTI-POLLUTION DEVICES submitted with this application. I have read the 
INFORMATION AND REQUIREMENTS and am aware that copies of the Kansas Chemigation Safety Law and Regulations 
are available upon request. 

 

Signature (Required):  Date (Required):    

Address:      
 Street (or R.R. & Box No.) City County State ZIP 

 

Legal Description of PDIV Water Right  County  System Type  (Check One) 
¼ ¼ ¼  Section/Township/Range File No. Abbrev. (cp=center pivot; dp=drip; fl=flood; o=other/explain) 

 KDA TR No CHP ($75 1st PDIV) $    

 Check No. WS ($15 ea. addt’l) $  PERMIT NO.  

 Check Amount CHE ($25 ea.) $  ISSUED DATE    

  This Application Amt.  $  REGION  

 



    
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

       
 
1.  PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE CLEARLY!  If you use a ballpoint pen, press firmly.   
 
2.  If more space is needed for supplying required information, please attach a separate piece of paper. 
 
3.  PARTS 1-2: Indicate if new or renewal. Chemigation User’s Permits (CUP) are issued to the owner or operator of land on which 

chemigation is to be used. Indicate if individual, partnership, corporation, association, or other. PART 2.A: If the applicant is a 
partnership, etc., enter the names, addresses and birth dates of the officers and/or partners. PART 2B: Enter other information about 
the entity. 

 
4.  PART 3: Each location should be listed by legal description. The well location or point of diversion (PDIV) should be stated as 

quarter/quarter/quarter, Section/Township/Range (Example: NW NE SE 23-21-15W) or in feet from the southeast corner of the 
respective section (Example: 3960' North and 1320' West of SE corner, 23-21-15W). Only PDIV’s should be reported. DO NOT 
REPORT CENTER PIVOT LOCATIONS!  

 
5.  PART 4: To receive a CUP, each applicant must be a Certified Chemigation Equipment Operator (CEO) or employ at least one 

individual currently certified as a Chemigation Equipment Operator. List new/recertified/current operator(s) with CEO certification 
numbers. Five-year certification/recertification is accomplished by successfully passing an open book chemigation exam, completing 
an application and paying the fee. Certification exams are available through this office or local extension offices. No individual shall 
supervise more than 10 operating chemigation units at one time.  

 
6. FEES: The CUP fee is payable annually only on PDIV’s when the chemigation process is to be used: 
   $75 = first PDIV 
   $15 = 2nd and each additional PDIV 
   $25 = CEO 5-year certification/recertification 
 Both fees may be combined and one check issued. Payment may be made by Money Order or check payable to: Kansas Department 

of Agriculture, or by DISCOVER, the only credit card that will be accepted, which charges an additional convenience fee of 2.25% of 
the total remitted amount. Fees must accompany this application. Sending currency through the mail is discouraged. Your canceled 
check is your receipt. Please use the fee schedule and calculation table below to prevent over/under payment. 

 
7. Other Kansas Chemigation Safety Law registration requirements are: 
 

a. Each application for a new (renewal excluded) permit must be accompanied by Form CSL-457, PLAN FOR USING 
REQUIRED ANTI-POLLUTION DEVICES. This form must include or be applicable to each PDIV listed in PART 3. The 
requirements for anti-pollution devices are listed in the leaflet entitled, “KANSAS CHEMIGATION SAFETY LAW, 
INFORMATION AND REQUIREMENTS.”  Verify your compliance by signing and dating this form.  

b. Each application for a new (renewal excluded) permit must be accompanied by Form CSL-120, PLAN FOR HANDLING 
TAILWATER. The plan must address or be applicable to all water sources listed in PART 3. Irrigation systems that do not 
produce water accumulations should be identified as such. The plan should describe the precautions taken and methods used 
to assure that water containing pesticides, fertilizers or other chemicals, or animal wastes does not leave the area intended for 
treatment. This form must be signed and dated. 

 

CHEMIGATION FEE SCHEDULE AND CALCULATION TABLE  
FOR USE BY APPLICANT 

1st PDIV $75 $ 75.00 

Each Additional PDIV ____ X $15 ea.  = $  

TOTAL PDIV FEES $  

Total CEO(s), New/Recertified  +  EXAM SHEET + APP MUST BE ATTACHED ____ X $25 ea.  = $  

TOTAL CEO FEES $  

TOTAL CHEMIGATION FEES FOR CURRENT YEAR   $  

Your Check No. Dated Make check/money order payable to  

 Kansas Department of Agriculture 
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