Division of Water Resources

The Division of Water Resources administers 30 laws and responsibilities including the Kansas Water Appropriation Act which governs how water is allocated and used; statutes regulating the construction of dams, levees and other changes to streams; the state's four interstate river compacts; as well as coordinating the national flood insurance program in Kansas.


Proposed Regulation Changes and Written Comments: Notice of public hearing on proposed regulation changes regarding consumptive use and civil penalties for delinquent water use reports.

Water Conservation Area (WCA)
: Information about WCAs and active or pending WCA plans. 

Local Enhanced Management Area (LEMA): Information about LEMAs and the Sheridan County 6 LEMA.

Online water use reporting: Link to Kansas Water Use Reporting System for submitting annual water use reports online.

Kickapoo Water Right: Information on the Kickapoo Indian Reservation Water Right Settlement Agreement.

Republican River Compact: Information on the latest resolutions and annual meetings between Kansas, Colorado and Nebraska on the Republican River Compact.

Hays R9:
Information about the City of Hays' applications to KDA-DWR for water right changes and water transfer of the R9 Ranch.

Quivira: Information about the investigation of the impairment complaint filed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service on behalf of the Quivira National Wildlife Refuge.

Multi-Year Flex Accounts (MYFAs):  The deadline for including the current calendar year (2016) as the first year of the five (5) year MYFA will be October 1.

DWR Approved Meter List: Current list of approved water flowmeters, forms and instructions.

Minimum Desirable Streamflow (MDS): Streams subject to and currently under MDS administration.

Division of Water Resources in the News

DWR Index

Questions about the Division of Water Resources 

Looking for answers to frequently asked questions? Check out our FAQ page.